Tag Archives: gluten-free

Caramel crunch ice cream

Ingredients

1 cup dates

200 ml full cream coconut milk

2 tbsp almond butter

Handful of granola or 2 cookies

Method

Soak the dates in boiling water for few minutes until they soften.

Then blend with the coconut milk and the almond butter.

Pour into ice cream moulds.

Top with granola chunks or pieces of cookies.

Freeze for 1 hour. Remove from moulds.

Drizzle melted chocolate on the front side.

Eating out with celiac disease

Key hidden gluten sources to watch out for:

  1. Dressings thickened with flour – Bechamel, balsamic, teriyaki etc.
  2. Soy sauce – It is very frequently used in various cuisines and contains wheat whereas Tamari which tastes similar is wheat free.
  3. “Crispy”/ “tempura” – Often not very visible/ Can be inside maki rolls, be sure to check.
  4. Certain types of oats – If they are highly cross-contaminated, you are likely to feel unwell if you suffer from celiac.
  5. Granola – Often mixed with gluten containing ingredients.
  6. Plantbased burger patties – Whether they are made of beans/ quinoa or pea protein, wheat flour can be used as binding ingredient.
  7. Plantbased “chicken” – Vital wheat gluten is often the main ingredient.
  8. Seitan – It is not only made of soy like tofu and does contain gluten. For tempeh, be sure to read the ingredients.
  9. Falafels – Traditionally gluten-free however some restaurants add wheat flour. Be sure to ask.
  10. Soups and stews – Vegetable/ chicken stock generally contain gluten.
  11. Pie crusts which contain a mixture of flours.
  12. Ice cream containing bits of chocolate or cookies.
  13. Couscous looks like quinoa – Always be sure to ask.
  14. Mexican taco shells – Though it should be made 100% of corn, it is often mixed with wheat flour.
  15. Mexican tortillas – “Flour tortillas” are made of wheat flour. You should ask for 100% corn tortillas and double check that it hasn’t been mixed with wheat.
  16. Burghul – Pure wheat added to salads like Tabbouleh or used as vine leaves stuffing.
  17. Dosa – Traditionally made of fermented rice and lentils, some restaurants use wheat flour.
  18. Syrups added to drinks – It is better to avoid altogether.
  19. Fried fish or other fried food – Wheat flour used for dusting or coating.
Zuma’s tofu salad – Corn starch is used to make the tofu crispy along with gluten-free soy sauce

Restaurants with decent gluten-free options in Dubai

Below is a list of some restaurants which have some pretty good gluten-free options.

Common Grounds

Cuisine: International/ “Australian brunch” style

What I like about it: Healthy wholesome dishes, generous servings, “GF” clearly marked on the menu, well seasoned meals.

My favorites: Breakfast bowl, lentil tacos

Loaded lentil tacos – filled with smashed avocado, mushrooms, sprouts etc.
Breakfast bowl – It can be served with grilled halloumi and eggs

Leen’s Casual to Gourmet

Cuisine: International

What I like about it: Menu includes meals from different cuisines (Japanese, Mexican etc.), “GF”clearly marked on the menu

My favorites: Mushroom tacos, matcha cheesecake, chocolate avocado mousse

Mushroom tacos
Matcha cheesecake and chocolate avocado mousse

Pinza

Cuisine: Pizza, virtual kitchen

What I like about it: Comfort food (classic pizzas for when you are craving comfort food), customizable, vegan options.

My favorite: Truffle pizza with vegan pepperoni, basil pizza (both customized)

Truffle pizza with vegan pepperoni
Basil mozzarella pizza

Something Baked

Cuisine: Manakeesh

What I like about it: Gluten-free options, classical taste and texture

My favorites: Classic cheese manakeesh

Cheese manakeesh

Healthy Little Secrets

Cuisine: Healthy light meals

What I like about it: Combo lunch deal including a bowl+GF bread+hot beverage

My favorites: Tofu lunch bowl with GF oat bread